Synchronicity:  the coincidental occurrence of events and especially psychic events (as similar thoughts in widely separated persons or a mental image of an unexpected event before it happens) that seem related but are not explained by conventional mechanisms of causality

It’s really amazing how the Universe works when we’re on the ‘right’ path.  And I use the word ‘right’ meaning, whatever it might be that is in alignment with our true selves.  What is right for me, might not be (and probably isn’t) ‘right’ for anyone else.  You know you’re on the right path when things just seem to click, life flows instead of ebbing, people come into your life who enrich your experiences and so forth.  Whenever I veer off my right path, I feel as if I’m swimming upstream –  in mud.  Nothing works.  Sometimes I ‘get it’ immediately and step back to evaluate, other times I keep pushing and trying to force things to work out the way I want them to – this never works as it means I’m out of balance and not listening to that inner voice that keeps me focused and on my right path.

When we’re on our right path … it’s a truly delightful journey! Yes, there are still bumps and in the road, but  the Universe sends us people and situations that we didn’t even know could exist – that’s when the magic of synchronicity is at play in our lives!  The only way to have synchronicity is to step back and ALLOW … you can’t force it, you can’t even will it to come, you have only to breath, relax, let go and listen to your inner voice.  It will never steer you wrong, but you do have to ‘listen’ with a quiet and open heart.  You know it’s not there when you get that ‘ick’ feeling.  Sometimes your brain is telling you to go one way but you know deep inside that isn’t the path for you.  No matter how much it logically makes sense, it’s just not going to work out if  you have to force things.  Where there is internal conflict, there is never synchronicity.

As some of you reading this might know, my path has led me to Daisy’s Place Retriever Rescue.  I didn’t plan to start a non-profit rescue, nor would I necessarily have chosen it if I had any inkling of what it would entail on a day to day basis.  However, I know with every fiber of my being that this is my right path.  Although it’s often hard, heart breaking work (with no monetary rewards), it feeds my soul in a way that is hard to describe.  It’s also a bit of a sticky subject with my husband as it’s not on his right path and he feels – rightly so – that it takes a lot of my energy and focus away from my own business and producing an income.  And let’s face it, unless you’re a trust fund baby, all of us need to earn a living these days! So I work hard at balancing rescue with my jewelry design business and the rest of my life.  It doesn’t always work out the way I intend, but again, if I listen to my own inner voice, things ‘just happen’ as they are meant to – synchronicity more often then not brings exactly what I need at any given moment to let me know I’m on my right path.

Odin - a very special Daisy Dog

I could share any number of examples of synchronicity at this point, but the following illustrates it beautifully.  About a month ago I was asked to take a large husky-shepherd mix into rescue.  Odin was featured in my blog “Compassion Leads to Balance“.  His dad was moving and couldn’t keep him and his housemate Rheba, a 9 year old Lab.  Now keep in mind, Daisy’s Place is dedicated to saving older Retrievers – Odin doesn’t have a bit of Retriever in all of his 110 lbs.  I agonized over what to do, Daisy’s Place was full with no open foster homes, but something kept bringing me back to his picture and his dad’s heartfelt pleas to save him.  For those of you not in rescue, let me explain that I get literally hundreds of these emails a week, so this was not an unusual situation.  I have no idea why, but I just knew I was meant to save Odin – and Rheba.  The minute I stopped listening to my brain which was screaming “what are you doing?!?!”, a foster home magically appeared that was absolutely the perfect fit for Odin.  I also found a loving foster home for Rheba.  There’s more to this story.  A few weeks later we had a ‘meet and greet’ where our fosters bring their adoptable Daisy Dogs so they can have the opportunity to meet potential adopters.  One of my fosters brought her Daisy Dog, Violet – and the minute she met Odin she exclaimed “he looks just like my Valentine that I adopted from the shelter 9 years ago!”  As soon as I got home I emailed Odin’s former dad and he responded that yes, he had adopted Odin from the same shelter at exactly the same time Kate got Valentine – 9 years ago – they were siblings separated at the shelter.  In that moment, there was no doubt, Odin was meant to be a Daisy Dog!  I’m not sure where this story will go from here, but I do know that synchronicity led me to save Odin and just looking at his sweet face fills my heart with joy!

Embrace your journey and listen to your inner voice, stay on your ‘right’ path – you’ll know when you’re exactly where you’re meant to be – synchronicity will whisper in your ear and enrich your life in ways previously unimaginable!

blessings,

Melissa

